IEQAS Background


The Irish External Quality Assessment Scheme (IEQAS), established in 1981, is a not-for-profit national independent scheme for the objective assessment of analytical performance in laboratory medicine and primary care in Ireland.

  • monitors the quality of results reported and offers professional advice and guidance as necessary  
  • educational rather than regulatory
  • provides a means of external audit that operates continuously, thus helping participants to achieve their aim of continuous quality improvement 
  • provides over 150 EQA schemes, either independently or in collaboration with other European EQA Scheme Providers; some are specifically designed for Point-of-Care-Testing (e.g. Pharmacies and Clinics)


Steering Committee

IEQAS is overseen by a Steering Committee consisting of nominees from the major professional bodies involved in laboratory medicine in Ireland

  • Academy of Clinical Science and Laboratory Medicine
  • Association of Clinical Biochemists in Ireland
  • Faculty of Pathology of the Royal College of Physicians of Ireland

Steering Committee and Specialist Advisors